Past Events

AUGUST 26-28, 2011

Soulographie Workshop Retreat
Location: Heart of the Beast (Minneapolis, MN)

Contact Meredith Lynsey Schade for more information. meredith [at] soulographie.org.

MAY 2, 2011 at 7:00pm PST
Thistle workshop presentation, directed by Carrie Klewin
Location: California State University San Marcos (CSUSM)

Contact Carrie Klewin for more details at ckdirector [at] gmail.com.

APRIL 29, 2011 at 8pm PST / 11pm EST
and MAY 4, 2011 at 7pm PST / 10pm EST

Cordelia will be presented LIVE on the Soulographie website! Click here to watch!APRIL 20th – MAY 7th, 2011
Cordelia, directed by Jubilith Moore, Music Composed by Suki O’Kane

NOHspace
2840 Mariposa Street, (between Florida and Alabama Streets)
San Francisco, CA 94110

Wednesdays & Thursdays @ 7 p.m. PST
Fridays & Saturdays @ 8 p.m. PST

Special Preview Tuesday 19th @ 7 p.m. PST, All Tickets $10
Opening Week Gala & Shakespeare’s Birthday Party, Saturday 23rd @ 8 p.m. PST: All Tickets $25

Tickets for all other performances: $18 in advance, $20 at the door.  Buy Tickets

 

APRIL 12, 2011 at 6:00 p.m.
Maria Kizito Workshop Reading

Kampala National Theatre
CICP Hall
Said Barre Road
Kampala, Uganda

 

MARCH 18, 2011 at 7 p.m. EST
Yermedea Workshop Reading

Perry and Marty Granoff Center for the Creative Arts
154 Angell Street
Providence, RI 02912

OCTOBER 4, 2010
Thistle reading, directed by Carrie Klewin
Social Issues Conference, “Artists Igniting Social Change” at the University of San Diego

DECEMBER 9-11, 2011

Soulographie Workshop Retreat
Location: Arena Stage and Woolly Mammoth in Washington, D.C.  Housing will be provided for participants.

JANUARY 13, 2012

Don’t miss UC San Marcos’ workshop of THISTLE, streaming LIVE on the Soulographie website and on Arena Stage’s Howlround!

When: Friday, Jan 13th at 7:30pm PST (10:30pm EST)
Where: Right Here!  (Or go to http://www.livestream.com/newplay)

JANUARY 25-29, 2012

Soulographie Puppet Conference

A four-day series of workshops and presentations centering on contemporary experimental puppetry. The experience parallels developmental work on the part of a team collaborating on Erik Ehn’s Soulographie project – a series of 17 plays being produced by 16 groups, on the subject of US policy and genocide in the 20th century. Soulographie will be presented in its entirety at La MaMa in NYC, in November 2012.

The Brown series features guest puppeteers presenting on their process, and offering hands-on fabrication experiences. Their stay will result in work-in-progress showings of their Soulographie productions.

The shows: Architecture of Great CathedralsDouble AspectStarHideboundYermedea.

Thursday, Jan 26
9-12: Two shows workshop
12-1: Break
1-4: Three shows workshop
4-6: Class visit (conversation with writers; a long-range project outlined for them)
6-8: Dinner/conversation

Friday, Jan 27
9-12: Two shows workshop
12-1: Lunch
1-4: Three shows workshop
4-6: Collective sharing
6-8: Dinner/conversation

Saturday, Jan 28
9-11: One show workshops*
11-1: One show workshops
1-2: Lunch
2-4: One show workshops
4-6: One show workshops
6-8: Dinner/conversation
* One show works through new material/fabricates etc., while all other companies help.

Sunday, Jan 29
9-11: Last show workshops
12-11: Planning meeting (next steps)
1-2: Lunch
2-4: Public presentation – the work of the puppeteers at large, and also a sharing of material from the residency.

FEBRUARY 24-26, 2012

Soulographie Design Conference NYC
All Soulographie Design Collaborators are invited to join us in New York for a weekend of artistic exchange as we help to create the visual language of Soulographie.